Spinning Yarns

Monday, July 15, 2019 - Saturday, September 28, 2019 Next Date: Monday, July 15, 2019 (8:00 PM)
The Mack 128 Great George St. Charlottetown, PE (800)565-0278

Spinning Yarns: Tales and Tunes from a homesick Newfoundlander
by Stephen Guy-McGrath

Newfoundland in the early ‘80s: a world of raucous adventures, death-defying escapades, and dubious childcare! This hilarious evening of story and song is a fictionalized biography written and performed by Festival favourite, Stephen Guy-McGrath (‘Bill’ in Mamma Mia!; ‘Sam Phillips’ in Million Dollar Quartet; ‘René’ in Evangeline)

Hear the trials and tribulations of growing up in a family that pulls no punches and takes no guff; seen through the eyes of a boy with an overactive imagination and a desperate desire to “fit in”. Through it all shines a fierce love of family and a boundless longing for home.

From a supposed “near-death birth” to a “final family Christmas”, Spinning Yarns weaves stories with songs and tunes that will make you “laugh ‘til you cry and cry ‘til you laugh”: a gun-toting mother, nefarious plotting brothers, human snowball piñatas, and other items that should definitely not go in the dryer!!!

Featuring traditional Newfoundland fiddle tunes and well-loved songs such as ‘The St. John’s Waltz’ by Ron Hynes, ‘Wave over Wave’ by Jim Payne (popularized by Great Big Sea), and more.

Sensitivity Warning: Haze effects are used in this production

Upcoming Dates

Date Time
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 8:00 PM
Saturday, July 20, 2019 8:00 PM
Monday, July 22, 2019 8:00 PM
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 8:00 PM
Saturday, July 27, 2019 8:00 PM
Monday, July 29, 2019 8:00 PM
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:00 PM
Saturday, August 3, 2019 8:00 PM
Monday, August 5, 2019 8:00 PM
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 8:00 PM